People sometimes ask what’s the difference between vegetarians and vegans – aren’t vegans vegetarians? Yes, technically vegans are vegetarians but there are significant differences that distinguish between both, based on today’s definition.
Vegetarians generally don’t consume meats or other flesh foods. They do however consume foods derived from animal such as milk, cheese, diary, butter and honey.
Vegans on the other hand, don’t consume animal products or products derived from animals and that include milk, dairy, cheese, honey, leather and fur. For vegans it’s not just about consuming no animal foods, but also not supporting any industry that create products derived from animals or buying products created through the use of animal parts, for example some sugars are processed using animal bone char, so even though that sugar maybe plant-based, it’s not vegan.
So, not everyone who say they are vegan are actually vegans, even though they may have a plant-based diet.
While all vegans have a plant-based diet, not all people who have a plant-based diet are vegans.
Point Of View
by Shel Silverstein
Thanksgiving dinner’s sad and thankless
Christmas dinner’s dark and blue
When you stop and try to see it
From the turkey’s point of view.
Sunday dinner isn’t sunny
Easter feasts are just bad luck
When you see it from the viewpoint
Of a chicken or a duck.
Oh how I once loved tuna salad
Pork and lobsters, lamb chops too
‘Til I stopped and looked at dinner
From the dinner’s point of view.